La Pedrera is one of Gaudi“s city centre buildings, began in 1905 and completed in 1910. This was the last of the architect“s works before he spent the rest of his life dedicated to the Sagrada Familia.
The address is Passeig de Grącia, number 92 (which crosses Carrer Provenca). The original name was Casa Milą, and later it became known as La Pedrera. This means “the quarry“, and the name comes from the stone-like appearance of the outside of the building.
It is an impressive sight from the outside, a very unusual and unique structure. Inside things are just as unconventional. The purpose of La Pedrera was to house apartments and offices. Unfortunately the owner found it quite a challenge to rent the apartments because of the problems forseen by potential tenants prospective tenants, who thought that the irregularly shaped rooms would present problems when furnishing them.
The building was fully restored in 1996, and now inside there is a Gaudi museum and an exhibition centre hosted by the bank Caixa de Catalunya. Of course, there is a gift shop for anyone inspired by their visit who wants to take home a reminder of their experience.
Visitors can go inside the house and see some of the rooms.
Evrey detail of La Pedrera, from the floors to the doorknobs and the furniture was created by the architect, making this a very special place to see. Access to the roof is also permitted, where you will find a spacious terrace and Gaudi-designed sculptures. To this day the building contains private residences, so this historic building it is still being used for its original purpose.